Apprenticeships: Frameworks & Standards

New Apprenticeship "Standards" At a glance:

• Designed by employers, Professional Bodies and training providers

• Developed to provide school leavers and career changers with an alternative route into the profession, or existing staff who want to develop their skills

• The new End Point Assessment will ensure apprentices have all the knowledge, skills and behaviours to be a success in their roles and in many cases gaining a professional qualification

Under the Apprenticeship Reforms, new Apprenticeship Standards will replace the old Specifications for Apprenticeship Standards in England (SASE) Frameworks.  

It is expected there will be between 600-800 new Apprenticeship Standards, compared to the current 250 SASE Frameworks.

Some of these new Standards are already available for delivery; so at present there is a cross-over period where some new Standards are being delivered alongside the SASE Frameworks. However, once a new Standard is in place, the outdated Framework which it replaces will be discontinued as soon as it’s practical to do so.

We expect the full switchover to take place by 2020, although this date is subject to change.

New Standards or old Frameworks – what’s the difference?

Each occupation will now have its own new Apprenticeship Standard linked to a specific occupational level. The new apprenticeships which are defined by these new Standards are rigorous, challenging and require the apprentice to undertake a minimum of one year’s training.

Individual Standards can be underpinned by National Occupational Standards (NOS). When a Standard follows NOS, it’s likely that it will be similar in content and delivery to the SASE Framework which it replaces.

Aston Recruitment Accreditation
Web Design by 1PCS© Aston Recruitment & Training Ltd 2010